Category / HSS Our 9 Research Entities

HSS Our 9 Research Entities

iWell Membership

The Integrative Wellbeing research group (iWell) has its ancestry in a previous Research Centre, viz., the Centre of Wellbeing & Quality of Life. The legacy of this centre is a wealth of expertise that can be brought to bear on several key domains of health-related wellbeing, including the development of public health innovations. Furthermore, recent appointments have strengthened the Faculty’s research expertise in areas that are known to influence wellbeing at a fundamental level, such as physical activity and nutrition.

Our inter-disciplinary, and cross-faculty team will undertake research to improve public health and wellbeing at population, community and individual citizen levels. A particular focus has been, and will continue to be, upon low income, disadvantaged and/or marginalised groups. Furthermore, members are committed to the INVOLVE principles for the co-production of research questions with service users.

Current Membership

Alison McConnell (Head), Carol Clark, Clare Killingback, Jon Williams, Jonny Branney, Jo Thurston, Osman Ahmed, Sarah Collard, Gill Glasgow, Steve Trenoweth, Andrea Lacey, Debbie Neal, Ann Hemingway, Angela Turner-Wilson, Anne Mills, Anneyce Knight, Adele Ladkin (FOM), Sheila Brooks, Karen Rees, Liz Norton, Sid Carter, Heather Hartwell (HSS & FOM), Holly Crossen-White, Katherine Appleton (FST), Sam Crowe (visiting fellow), David Phillips (visiting prof)

 Associate Members

Jane Murphy, Fotini Tsofliou, Joanne Holmes, Michelle Heward, Sharon Docherty, Sue Baron, Swarjit Sarkar, Sara Crabtree, Petra Brown, Sara White, Bernadette Waters.


Sarah Pyke, Stacy Wall, Alice Ladur, Elizabeth Waithaka, Folashade Alloh, Pippa Hillen.



Centre for Qualitative Research – Centre Membership

The Centre for Qualitative Research (CQR) is is part of The Faculty of Health & Social Sciences. CQR is an internationally recognised resource for knowledge transfer activities and for the alignment of teaching and qualitative research.

The Centre in Qualitative Research acknowledges a history of achievements and expertise which serves as a focus for emerging developments in: Humanising Health and Social Care;  Performative Social Science and Arts-based Research;  Narrative and Biographic Research; and  Novel and Innovative Research including auto-ethnography, poetic inquiry, fiction, creative use of media including Research as Film.


Twitter: @BUQualitative



Current Membership

Kip Jones (Director), Anne Quinney, Carol Bond, Carol Pound, Caroline Ellis-Hill (Deputy Director), Judith Chapman, Immy Holloway, Sarah Collard, Michele Board, Sheila Brooks, Catherine Hennessey (Visiting Prof), Karen Rees, Jennifer Roddis, Karen Cooper, Maria (Camila) Devis-Rozental, Wendy Cutts.

Associate Members

Lorraine Brown, Jenny Hall, Trevor Hearing (Media), Lee-Ann Fenge, Jacqueline Priego, Clare Cutler, Jen Leamon, Janet Scammell, Jonathan Parker, Jane Fry, Nikki Glendening, Vanessa Heaslip, Mark Readman (Media), Sara Crabtree, Ben Hicks, Maggie Hutchings, Andy Mercer, Jill Phillips, Lynn Rutter, Carly Stewart, Emma Kavanagh.

Post Grad Affiliates

Clare Gordon, Peter Wolfensberger, Kathleen Vandenberghe, Louise Oliver, Karen Cooper, Elizabeth Gauntlett, Mevalyn Cross, Camila Devis-Rozental, Sally Lee, Manaya Podee, Paul Leal



Ageing & Dementia Research Centre (ADRC) – Centre Membership

The ADRC is the only cross faculty centre at BU that brings together expertise in the areas of ageing and dementia. The aim of ADRC is to use the team’s collective expertise to develop person-centred research which will improve the lives of older people with long-term conditions including dementia and their families.  The research falls under three broad categories – developing ageing & dementia friendly environments, nutrition & wellbeing and activity & social inclusion. The ADRC is led by Professor Jane Murphy and Professor Jan Wiener, supported by staff and students from the Faculty of Health & Social Sciences and the Faculty of Science & Technology.

Current ADRC Membership:-

Jane Murphy (Head), Jan Wiener (Joint Head – Sci-tech), Michele Board, Michelle Heward, Joanne Holmes, Juliet Wiseman, Mike Bracher, Swrajit Sarkar, Ashley Spriggs, Ben Hicks (Sci-tech), Ramona Grzeschik (Sci-tech), Samuel Nyman (Sci-tech), Denise Carroll (Sci-tech).

Associate Members

Janet Scammell, Shanti Shanker (Sci-tech), Steven Trenoweth, Wendy Cutts, Vanessa Heaslip, Christos Gatzidis (Sci-tech).


Mananya Podee, Natalia Adamczewska, Yolanda Barrado-Martin, Iram Bibi, Sophie Bushell, Mary O’Malley, Mary Duah-Owusu White, Christopher Hilton.

BUCRU – Centre Membership

“BUCRU aims to design, conduct and manage high quality, funded, health-related randomised controlled trials and other well-designed studies within HSS, across University Faculties, with researchers in National Health Service (NHS) Trusts and with national and international collaborators.

It does this by:

  1. Supporting researchers in improving the quality, quantity and efficiency of research across Bournemouth University and local NHS Trusts.
  2. Incorporating the Dorset office of the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Research Design Service (RDS) to support the methodological development of high quality research grant applications.
  3. Offering methodological and statistical collaboration for health related research, particularly research of relevance to the NHS and public health.
  4. Conducting high quality nationally and internationally recognised research in complex interventions (including digital health) and long term conditions. “

Current Membership

Peter Thomas (Head), Tamas Hickish (Head), Sarah Thomas (Deputy), Helen Allen, Sharon Docherty, Vanessa Heaslip, Roger Baker (Visiting Professor), Andy Powell, Louise Ward (administrator).

Associate Members

Samuel Nyman (Sci-tech).


Centre for Midwifery, Maternal and Perinatal Health (CMMPH) – Centre Membership

CMMPH focuses on research in midwifery, maternal and perinatal care. Academic researchers associated with the group employ a wide spectrum of research approaches, ranging from qualitative to quantitative research and from mixed-methods studies to systematic reviews. They also cover a range of different topics, with studies undertaken locally in Dorset and the South of England, nationally across the UK, and internationally as far afield as Afghanistan, Nepal, Pakistan and the USA. We currently have 21 doctoral students working on a wide variety of projects both local and international.

Research focuses on the following broad areas

  • Improving maternal outcomes in low and middle income countries
  • Early labour
  • Maternal health and the media
  • Breastfeeding
  • Midwifery professional and maternal education
  • Other clinical studies

Current Membership

Edwin van Teijlingen (Head), Sue Way (Deputy), Catherine Angell, Luisa Cescutti-Butler, Simon Dyall, Sarah Emberley, Jane Fry, Vanora Hundley, Denyse King, Jen Leamon, Lesley Milne, Sara Stride, Alison Taylor, Gail Thomas, Fotini Tsofliou, Carol Wilkins, Pramod Regmi, Wendy Marsh, Juliet Wood.

Associate Members

Ann Luce, Andrew Mayers (Sci-tech), Jenny Hall.


Dana Colbourne, Rebecca Cousins, Liz Davey, Hannah Haydock, Debbee Houghton, Rie Inomata, Michelle Iriving, Alice Ladur, Preeti Mahato, Susan Mant, Amy Miller, Dominique Mylod, Isabell Nessell, Stella Rawnson, Layla Toomer, Daisy Wiggins, Donna Wixted.

Visiting Faculty

Jo Alexander, Debra Bick, Sheena Byrom, Suzanne Cunningham, Jillian Ireland, Minesh Khashu, Gwyneth Lewis, Paul Lewis, Ans Luyben, Wendy Marsh, Zoe Matthews, Emma Pitchforth, Samridhi Pradhan, Kath Ryan, Brijesh Sathian, Rob Sawdy, Bibha Simkhada, Padam Simkhada, Mandy Forrester.