Tagged / music

BU Composer at BEAST FEAST 2017 Music Festival

Dr Ambrose Seddon’s musical work ‘Fleeting Strands’ was recently included in the programme at BEAST FEAST 2017, an international electroacoustic music festival taking place at the University of Birmingham, 27-29 April 2017.


Ambrose ‘diffused’ (spatialised) his composition over the 64-channel loudspeaker system known as BEAST (Birmingham Electroacoustic Sound Theatre), in a programme including works by many highly-respected international artists. More information can be found here: http://preview.tinyurl.com/jvkj7q5

 

Ambrose is a lecturer in Music and Audio Technology at BU (Creative Technology, Sci Tech) and a member of EMERGE.

IRW musical extravaganza

Interdisciplinary Research Week music performance:

Who: Emerge music group performanceASeddonTDavisATroisi

When and where: Talbot Campus, Friday, 29th January – 17.30 – 18.30

What: BU’s Emerge Research Centre has a research music performing group, a creative space where each person develops their own instruments and music based on personal research into sound as well as gesture and technology as part of their creative practice.

The experimental music and sound-art event features a soundtrack of electronic atmospheres, noisescapes, pulses and rhythms, tones and drones. It will include an exploration of hardware-hacked devices, simple electronic instruments, data networks and basic sensors to augment and inform laptop improvisations, immersive fixed-media soundscapes and live visuals

Performers include:

David Borgo, http://musicweb.ucsd.edu/~dborgo/David_Borgo/Bio.html
Anna Troisi, http://www.annatroisi.org/
Antonino Chiaramonte, http://www.antoninochiaramonte.eu/
Rob Canning, http://rob.kiben.net/
Bill Thompson, www.billthompson.org
Ambrose Seddon, http://www.ambroseseddon.com/
Tom Davis, http://www.tdavis.co.uk/

Visuals by Kavi, https://vimeo.com/user324972

Book your place

BUDI Orchestra Needs You!

BUDI are still looking to recruit people with dementia and their carers to join the BUDI Orchestra, starting Wednesday 4th February 2015 for 8 weeks.

If you know of anyone living with dementia, or caring for someone with dementia, that you think would be interested in joining a music group led by professional musicians from the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, then please do get in touch! We are also seeking volunteers with an interest in music (staff or students) to help facilitate the sessions.

Interested?

For more information, please contact: Laura Reynolds on (01202 9) 62546 or email: lreynolds@bournemouth.ac.uk.

We look forward to hearing from you!

NEW BUDI Orchestra Coming Soon!

Do you know someone living with dementia in Dorset who likes music?

If so, BUDI would like to invite the person with dementia and their carer to become part of a new BUDI Orchestra starting this January 2015. We would like them to share their musical talents and take part in a music evaluation hosted by BUDI and professional musicians.

We hope to evaluate the effects of a novel music initiative on their daily lives. They will have the opportunity to learn a new instrument, sing, or showcase their existing musical talents to their peers.

No previous musical experience is necessary, we’re looking for people who are willing to come along and ‘give it a go’!

For further information, please contact: Laura Reynolds on 01202 962546, or email: lreynolds@bournemouth.ac.uk.

Please disseminate this notice to anyone who you think may be interested in the project. A PDF flyer can be provided – please email: lreynolds@bournemouth.ac.uk.